Atlas Symphony Orchestra

Built up by exceptional musicians

This orchestra was created with the idea of bringing enthusiastic and lively musicians at the beginning of their careers from around Europe, to unite in music and become advocates for artistry, idea exchanges, as well as the building of a long lasting musical friendships and active participation in the common european family. Most of the players represent countries which are either older or newer members of the European Union as well as EU candidate countries such as Turkey. We love performing a wide range of musical styles, from baroque to contemporary and are looking forward to bringing vivid and enthusiastic musical performances to our audiences.

Robert Schumann - Symphony No. 2, Op. 61 II movement


In the interpretation of this important work by Schumann a few aspects were taken into consideration. On one side the title "Scherzo" marked by the composer provides an interesting juxtaposition to the emotional turmoil which Schumann was struggling at the time. The diminished chord harmonies, despite the bright key of C major, suggest more a sense of an urgency rather then a "joke". Therefore, a light hearted approach to this symphony´s movement was to be avoided.
The beautifully written trios were also treated in an individual manner, where the first trio , being the most "scherzo like" appears more "leggero" as a contrast to the fast violin passages preceding it. The second scherzo, being the most romantic in this movement´s character was treated as a human voice, trying to prevail over destiny.
The tempo decisions were made by trying to avoid a feeling of an "etude for strings" which often a steady tempi throughout this movement evoke.

Joseph Haydn - Symphony No. 85 in B flat major, "La Reine" II movement


This "favorite symphony " of Marie Antoinette had probably won her sympathies with its cheerful folkloristic motives and reminded her of her past and present. The second movement constructed around simple theme, appears in a set of variations, clearly showing an elegant, french-influenced side of the composer. An absence of pathos was the main concern in the present interpretation. The tempo abbreviation "Allegretto" was also respected, supporting a fresher and more positive approach to this movement. The variation in "minor" was treated in a sorrowful matter of " comedy vs. tragedy" , suggested by the contrast of the accompaniment in the cello section, which does not lose its "joke like" voicing, opposing a mournful melody in the violins. Filled with expressive solos by the flute and the bassoon it is one of Haydn´s masterpieces.

Joseph Haydn - Symphony No. 85 in B flat major, "La Reine" IV movement


The fourth movement attracts the listener immediately with it´s joyful character. During the musical preparation a very fast, cheery tempo was desired. And quite frankly it felt like this during the video making. We all had a feeling due to the overly accustical environment of the beautiful foyer, that tempi were fast "Presto", much to the surprise upon listening to the recordings. We are hoping that the brisk, joyful essence of this movement has been preserved, despite the acoustical challenges we had to encounter. The steady contrast between "dance like" character and dramatic development in the middle section were also kept into consideration, hoping to underline the element of constant surprises and small pranks which are Haydn´s trademarks in most of his works.

Building a new orchestra

Gathering musicians from all around Europe

The idea about establishing Atlas Symphony Orchestra came spontaneously among fellow musicians from different European countries, who decided to unite their love for music in this project. We have worked with each other on many occasions before, such as being part of various orchestras and have developed strong friendships, which we hope to continue strengthening through the unique language of music, which unites us.